Congratulations to Florida State: Fourth national title in women’s Division 1 soccer

Congratulations to Florida State: Fourth national title in women’s Division 1 soccer

Congratulations to Florida State: Fourth national title in women’s Division 1 soccer 1024 1024 The Ultimate Lineup

Florida State women’s soccer team made history on Monday night, as they beat Stanford 5-1 in the 2023 NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship final at WakeMed Park in Cary, NC. The Seminoles became the first team to win four national titles in women’s soccer, and the first team to finish the season undefeated since Stanford in 20111.

The Seminoles dominated the game from start to finish, scoring three goals in the first half and two more in the second. They outshot the Cardinal 17-9 and had 10 shots on target compared to Stanford’s four. Florida State also controlled the possession and the tempo of the game, showing their experience and composure on the big stage.

The final whistle sparked a wild celebration for the Seminoles, who lifted the trophy and celebrated with their fans. The Noles finished the season with a perfect 24-0 record, scoring 83 goals and conceding only 131. They also won their seventh ACC title and their fourth national title, adding to their previous championships in 2014, 2018, and 2020.

Florida State’s head coach Mark Krikorian, who has been in charge of the program since 2005, praised his team for their remarkable achievement. “I’m so proud of this group of players and staff. They worked so hard and sacrificed so much to get to this point. They played with passion, intelligence, and courage. They are a special group and they deserve this title,” he said.

The final was the first time in NCAA women’s soccer history that two undefeated teams met in the national title game1. It was also the fifth time that Florida State and Stanford faced each other in the College Cup, with Florida State winning three times and Stanford winning twice1. The two teams have combined for seven national titles in the last 10 years, making them the most successful programs in women’s soccer.

The 2023 College Cup was the 40th edition of the NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship, which started with 64 teams on Nov. 10 and ended with one champion on Dec. 4. The College Cup, which is the semifinal and final rounds of the tournament, was held at WakeMed Park in Cary, NC, for the 11th time. The All-Tournament Team, which was selected by the media, consisted of the following players:

Jaelin Howell, Florida State (Most Outstanding Player)

Clara Robbins, Florida State

Yujie Zhao, Florida State

Jenna Nighswonger, Florida State

Catarina Macario, Stanford

Naomi Girma, Stanford

Maya Doms, Stanford

Mikayla Colohan, BYU

Cameron Tucker, BYU

Renee Guion, Clemson

Makenna Morris, Clemson

Learn more at :DI Women’s College Soccer – Home |

Soccer for beginners: A tutorial

The Sport Lady has been a lifelong sports enthusiast. She believes that sports have the power to unite people, create common bonds, and foster shared experiences. As a wife and mother of sports lovers, she is passionate about her favorite teams and cherishes every opportunity to watch them play. For her, every day is game day!